Job Offer - Assistant to the management

Application deadline: January 10th, 2020

Start date: January 2022 (Flexible)

Workplace: Available workspace in Montréal/Tiohtià:ke (occasional telework)

Temporary contract: 35h/week (30 weeks)

Work conditions: Increase of the minimum wage to 15$/h (Emploi-Québec Wage Subsidy)

Other advantages: Working condition policy presented to the preselected candidates

 

Presentation of the Machinery

The Machinery is an organization dedicated to the performing arts that shares resources, tools and expertise using a diversified, customized and inclusive approach. Through its community, the Machinery strengthens and showcases artistic and cultural aspirations of creators in Montréal.

The Machinery is a service organization that offers medium and long-term support, advisory services, workshops and personalized training, as well as over 250 practical and concrete management tools. It mobilizes a pool of about 150 specialized resources who are invited to support artists through specific collaborations, in addition to the five members of its internal team.

Arts professionals base their practice on active listening, their work agility and their ability to adapt to an ever-changing environment. These qualities position them as essential links to help establish overdue changes in our business sector, namely the arts and culture. To that extent, the Machinery believes that inclusivity and the decolonization of management practices are becoming indispensable. The Machinery wishes to reassess itself by questioning its approach and by humbly participating to the collective reflection.

 

Job description

The Assistant to the management is responsible for ensuring the smooth running of services and activities in support to the actions of the other members of the team. The position requires helping with administrative and bookeeping operations, digital logistic as well as receiving our guests in our physical office space.

Reception, activities and services (50 %)

  • Attend Orientation meetings with another member from the team and do the post-meeting follow-ups with the artists;
  • Confirm daily meetings, conference room bookings and handle logistic regarding the use of the Zoom account for videoconference;
  • Handle logistic regarding our in-person activities (preparing the room, snacks, etc.);
  • Send reminders to people attending our activities as well as documents and feedback surveys after the events;
  • Support Toolbox‘s users regarding access to the online directory;
  • Manage updates and improvements to the Toolbox in collaboration with the rest of the team;
  • Prepare quarterly and annual reports regarding services and activities;
  • Other related tasks regarding reception, services and activities.

Administrative support (50 %)

  • Produce service invoices, handle payment collection (Accès D, Eventbrite, PayPal), track payments (database) and send payment reminders when necessary;
  • Coordinate payments to guest speakers (collecting invoices and sample cheque);
  • Take care of basic office purchases for meetings and activities;
  • Coordinate donation collection and prepare thank you cards and tokens.

 

Description of the desired profile

The Assistant to the management is a professional, versatile, proactive and autonomous person, with good resourcefulness, able to maintain good professional relations with intermediaries from various artistic sectors. They also fill the following requirements:

  • Great capacity to organize work and good interpersonal skills;
  • Good digital literacy (ability to work with the Google Suite (Drive, Agenda, Slide), Meistertask task manager, Airtable databases as well as Microsoft Word and Excel);
  • Studies in arts management, project management and/or equivalent or ongoing professionalization process in the field of the arts;
  • Interest working for an organization that wishes to offer bilingual services;
  • Full adherence to the Machinery’s commitment to inclusivity and accessibility;
  • Motivation to work in the performing arts sector in a leading-edge cultural organization;
  • Interest in working for a community of practitioners of the performing arts sector.

Interested candidates must be eligible to Emploi-Québec’s Wage Subsidy program and send their resume as well as a cover letter by Monday January 10th, 2022. Don’t hesitate to get in touch with Rachel Billet by email (direction@machineriedesarts.ca) or by phone at 514-907-4783 #204 for more information. Please consult our inclusion measures. Only those candidates selected for an interview will be contacted. Thank you for your interest as we look forward to opening further discussions!

Related notes

1- Prior knowledge of all mentioned digital tools is not mandatory since formal training will be given at the beginning of the work contract.

2- The Machinery is committed to adapting the nature of the position to allophone people (whose first language is neither French nor English) to further promote their integration and foster their linguistic progression towards using both of the Machinery’s work languages (French and English).

3- The Machinery encourages applications from BIPOC (Black, Indigenous and People of color), newcomers and any other people who stem from other forms of diversity (body, gender, etc.). To that end, it will adapt its selection criteria based on principles of equity. Lastly, the Machinery is committed to listening to the demands of candidates who have specific needs regarding accessibility.

Offre d'emploi - Adjoint·e aux directions

Date limite pour postuler : 10 janvier 2022

Début de l’emploi : janvier 2022 (à discuter)

Contrat temporaire : 35 h/semaine (pendant 30 semaines)

Lieu de l’emploi : Espace de travail à Montréal/Tiohtià:ke (télétravail occasionnel)

Conditions d’emploi : Majoration du salaire minimum à 15 $/h (subvention Emploi-Québec)

Autres avantages : Politique des conditions de travail présentée aux candidat·e·s présélectionné·e·s

 

Présentation de la Machinerie des arts

La Machinerie est un organisme dédié au milieu des arts de la scène qui mutualise des ressources et partage des expertises avec une approche diversifiée, personnalisée et inclusive. Par l’entremise de sa communauté de praticien·ne·s, la Machinerie consolide et fait rayonner les aspirations artistiques et culturelles des créateur·rice·s de Montréal.

La Machinerie est un organisme de service qui offre autant de l’accompagnement à moyen et long terme, du service-conseil, des ateliers et formations personnalisées et plus de 250 outils de gestion concrets et pratiques. Elle mobilise un bassin d’environ 150 ressources spécialisées qui peuvent être amenés à soutenir les artistes pour des collaborations ponctuelles ; en complémentarité avec les cinq membres de l’équipe de la Machinerie.

Les professionnel·le·s des arts fondent leur pratique sur l’écoute des autres, la capacité à être agile et à s’adapter aux conditions changeantes. Ces qualités les positionnent comme des maillons essentiels pour mettre en place les mutations plus que nécessaires dans notre secteur d’activités, les arts et la culture. En ce sens, la Machinerie croit que l’inclusivité et la décolonisation des pratiques de gestion deviennent incontournables. La Machinerie tient à se remettre en question en révisant ses approches et en participant humblement à la réflexion.

 

Description du poste

Le poste d’Adjoint·e aux directions consiste à assurer le bon déroulement des services et des activités en complément des actions menées par les membres de l’équipe. Il comprend du soutien administratif et comptable, de l’aide à la logistique numérique ainsi que l’accueil de nos invité·e·s dans notre espace physique.

Accueil, activités et services (50 %)

  • Accompagner un·e membre de l’équipe dans les Rencontres d’orientation et faire le suivi des rencontres auprès des artistes ;
  • Assurer la gestion au quotidien de la confirmation des rencontres, de la réservation des salles et de l’utilisation du compte zoom pour la visioconférence ;
  • Assurer la logistique de toutes nos activités en présentiel (préparation de la salle, collation, etc.) ;
  • Envoyer les rappels aux participant·e·s des activités et envoyer la documentation et les sondages de rétroactions après les évènements ;
  • Aide aux utilisateur·trice·s de la Caisse à outils pour accéder au répertoire en ligne ;
  • Coordonner le maintien et l’amélioration des outils en collaboration avec ses collègues ;
  • Rédiger des rapports annuels et bilans trimestriels des services et des activités ;
  • Autres tâches connexes en lien avec l’accueil, la gestion des services et l’accueil des activités.

Soutien administratif (50 %)

  • Produire les factures des services, faire le suivi des encaissements (Accès D, Eventbrite, PayPal), suivre les paiements (base de données) et faire les rappels de paiements au besoin ;
  • Assurer le suivi du paiement des intervenant·e·s (réception facture et spécimen) ;
  • Faire les achats de bureau pour les réunions et activités ainsi que les fournitures de base ;
  • Faire le suivi des dons et préparer les remerciements et autres attentions.

 

Description du profil recherché 

Le·la adjoint·e aux directions est une personne professionnelle, enthousiaste, structurée et capable d’entretenir des relations professionnelles de qualité avec des interlocuteur·rice·s provenant des divers secteurs artistiques. Il·elle répond également aux exigences suivantes :

  • Une grande capacité d’organisation du travail et de l’entregent relationnel ;
  • Bonne littératie numérique (habileté avec la suite Google (Drive, Agenda, Slide), le gestionnaire de tâches Meistertask, la base de données AirTable et les logiciels Excel et Word)  ;
  • Études en gestion des arts, en gestion de projets ou l’équivalent et/ou un profil artistique en cours de professionnalisation ;
  • Intérêt pour travailler dans une organisation qui tend vers le bilinguisme ;
  • Une pleine adhésion aux engagements d’inclusion et d’accessibilité de la Machinerie ;
  • Une motivation à œuvrer dans le secteur des arts vivants dans un organisme culturel innovateur ;
  • Un intérêt pour travailler au service d’une communauté de praticien·ne en arts vivants ;

Les candidat·e·s intéressé·e·s devront être éligibles au programme de subvention salariale d’Emploi-Québec et faire parvenir leur curriculum vitae accompagné d’une lettre de motivation à la direction générale d’ici le lundi 10 janvier 2022. N’hésitez pas à contacter Rachel Billet par courriel (direction@machineriedesarts.ca) ou téléphone (514) 907-4783 poste 204 pour plus d’information. Consultez nos mesures d’inclusivité. Seules les personnes retenues pour une entrevue seront contactées.

Notes connexes

1- La Machinerie reconnaît que la compétence professionnelle peut s’acquérir soit par une formation académique, soit par la pratique de la profession ou grâce à un parcours mixte qui inclut les deux. Ainsi, la Machinerie évaluera avec équité des candidatures au parcours atypique, tant des profils autodidactes que des diplômés d’institutions scolaires.

2- La Machinerie s’engage à adapter la nature de l’emploi aux personnes allophones (dont la langue maternelle n’est ni le français ni l’anglais) pour favoriser leur intégration et soutenir leur progression linguistique vers les deux langues de travail de la Machinerie (le français et l’anglais).

3- La Machinerie encourage les candidatures de PANDC (Personnes autochtones, noir·e·s et de couleurs), de nouveaux·elles arrivant·e·s et des personnes issues d’autres formes de diversité (corporelle, genre, etc.). Pour ce faire, elle adaptera ses critères de sélection par principe d’équité. Enfin, la Machinerie s’engage à être à l’écoute des besoins d’un·e candidat·e qui aurait des besoins spécifiques en matière d’accessibilité.